Gulf of Mexico Alliance Diversity Contacts

Community Liaison Facilitator LaKeshia Robertson EPA Gulf of Mexico Program
UUP Workgroup Leader Suraida Nanez-James Gulf of Mexico Foundation
GOMA Environmental Education Coordinator Lee Yokel Gulf of Mexico Alliance

Contact a Community Liaison Specialist

Hugh Tran - Alabama
Claudette Walker - Mississippi
Flowers White - Mississippi

Underserved and Underrepresented Workgroup

The UUP Working Group includes members who have a shared interest enhancing skills and knowledge related to improving the design and delivery of environmental education in coastal settings with underserved or underrepresented populations. The group conducts conference calls for members to discuss relevant topics and interview guest speakers. To participate in 2012 conference calls or other activities, please contact workgroup leader Suraida Nanez-James.

Have a question for an UUP educator or practitioner?

Alton JamesUSDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Bayou Land Resources Conservation & Development (RC&D)alton.james@la.usda.gov
Angela CapelloLouisiana Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife Educatoracapello@wlf.la.gov
Auburn CarpenterEducation Projects Manager, Texas State Aquariumacarpenter@txstateaq.org
Brenda G. Weiser, Ed.D.Director of EE, Environmental Institute of Houston, Clinical Associate Professor, School of Education UHCLWeiser@uhcl.edu
Catherine SuteraLouisiana Sea Grantcsuter1@tigers.lsu.edu
Cathy WakefieldConservation Education Coordinatorcwakefield@3dcoast.com
Charlene MauroSanta Rosa CountyMauroC@mail.santarosa.k12.fl.us
Charlotte RunnelsEnvironmental Protection Agency - Enviro Justice LouisianaRunnels.Charlotte@epamail.epa.gov
Christina VerlindeUF/IFAS Santa Rosa County Sea Grant Extensionchrismv@ufl.edu
Cinde Thomas-JimenezGuadalupe Blanco River Authority - environmental educatorcthomas-jimenez@gbra.org
Debbie StoneFlorida Aquariumdstone@flquarium.org
Dianne LindstedtLouisiana Sea Grantdlindst@lsu.edu
Gillian RabalaisAudobon Zoo Volunteer Coordinatorgrabalais@auduboninstitute.org
Greg Ira FL Dept. of Environmental Protection Office of Environmental Education (former workgroup chair) greg.ira@dep.state.fl.us
Heidi HitterLouisiana Environmental Education Commissionhit6886@yahoo.com
Jennifer BuchananGrand Bay National Estuarine Research Reservejen.buchanan@dmr.ms.gov
Jennifer ConoverMarine Education Associate, LUMCONmconover@lumcon.edu
John Sullivan Director: Public Forum & Toxics Assistance Sealy Center for Environmental Health & Medicine / NIEHS center in Environmental Toxicology Community Outreach & Education Core University of Texas Medical Branch @ Galveston, TXjosulliv@utmb.edu
Joselin LandryNature Conservancy, Grande Isle Program Directorjlandry@tnc.org
Karla KlayExecutive Director Artist Boatkklay@artistboat.org
Kathleen NicholsLouisiana Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries Environmental Education Asst. Directorknichols@wlf.la.gov
Kris ShipmanTX Parks & Wildlifekris.shipman@tpwd.state.tx.us
LaKeshia Robertson Environmental Protection Agency Gulf of Mexico Program robertson.lakeshia@epa.gov
Ann Weaver National Oceanic & Atmospheric Association-Coastal Services CenterAnn.Weaver@noaa.gov
Marcia Allen OwensJD, PhD Florida A&M Universitymarcia.owens@famu.edu
Mattilynn D. DantinLouisiana Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheriesmdantin@wlf.louisiana.gov
Michael SheltonWeeks Bay Reserve, Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, State Lands michael.shelton@dcnr.alabama.gov
Robert BerthelotChief of Interpretive Services, Louisiana Department of State Parks, Dept. of CRTrberthelot@crt.state.la.us
Roxanne NikolausDivision of Ocean Sciences National Science Foundationrnikolau@nsf.gov
Shelia A. Brown, Ph.D.Interim Administrator and Coordinator of Educational Programs, J.L.Scott Marine Education Center, Gulf Coast Research Laboratoryshelia.brown@usm.edu
Suraida Nanez-James Gulf of Mexico Foundation suraida@gulfmex.org
Susan SawyerThe Pier Aquarium Education Coordinatorssawyer@pieraquarium.org
Tara ShultzTexas State Aquariumtschultz@txstateaq.org
Theresa CrossLouisiana Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheriestcross@wlf.louisiana.gov
Tina Miller-Way, Ph.D.Scientist-Educator, Northern Gulf Institute / Dauphin Island Sea Labtmiller-way@disl.org
Tricia LeBlancDirector of Education and Volunteers, Audubon Aquarium of the Americastleblanc@AudubonInstitute.org
Willie YoungerTexas Sea Grantw-younger@tamu.edu
Wynecta FisherCity of New Orleans, Office of Environmental Affairswmfisher@cityofno.com